Bubble and Squeak

Bubble and Squeak

Continuing on with recipes that creatively use cabbage I wanted to introduce you to a traditional English peasant dish called Bubble and Squeak. This dish has become a “go to” recipe in my kitchen and it’s one of my “comfort foods”. My mother use to make this for us growing up and am excited to introduce you to it. This is a simple “peasant” dish traditionally designed to be made with leftovers from the main Sunday meal, so don’t get too excited. Unless you’re into that kind of thing like I am, and in that case, feel free to get really excited.

Traditionally this dish would be made with leftover winter vegetables, potatoes, and cabbage, all mixed together and pan fried. I have seen recipes that range from simple to overly complicated, and use a verity of different ingredients with varying outcomes. Some take on a “crab cake” like form while others are smiler to shepherds pie, with everything in-between. For some it is a breakfast dish using breakfast sausages and for others a dinner meal. There really seems to be no specific recipe, even amongst British friends and family, so I will give you my recipe and you can change it as you like.

For me Bubble and Squeak is a dinner meal and I normally do not use it as a means to dealing with leftovers. I like my cabbage and potatoes (as well as my leftovers) far too much to do that to this recipe. So you will find this to be fresher version to a traditionally “leftover” meal.

Ingredients: (this will make 4-6 servings)

  • 1/2 – 3/4 lb sausage (3-4 uncooked bratwurst style sausage)
  • 1 head of green cabbage
  • 2 medium yellow onions (cut in half and sliced like your making fajitas)
  • 4-6 new potatoes (about 4-5 cups sliced) (cooked or uncooked)
  • 1 tbsp garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • salt and pepper to taste

In a large skillet, pan, pot, or wok (I love my wok), heat olive oil and added sausage and onions. Begin to brown. The type sausage is up to you. I like to get the uncooked kind from the butcher counter that you might through on the grill at a BBQ. My favorite ones are the Vino Formaggio (win and cheese pork sausage) but you can use anything from the traditional bratwurst and Italian sausage to the chick and apple sausage. Cut sausage into 1/2 – 1 inch pieces.

After the sausage begins to cook but is not cooked all the way through (2-3 minutes) add your sliced potatoes. I have used both cooked and uncooked potatoes before but I prefer sliced uncooked ones. It takes a little while longer to cook but they do not fall apart as easily. Keep stirring your onions, potatoes, and sausage so they all start to cook and to minimize sticking and burning.

After about 5-8 minutes add your garlic and red pepper flakes. At this point you can salt and pepper as well. Once your sausage is cooked you can start tasting to see if the salt level is right for your palate. When the potatoes are almost “fork tender” you can add your cabbage. The cabbage you can cut any way you like. I cut it into quarters and cut out the core, then slice it into strips about 1/2 – 1 inch wide. It really depends what you like. I like chunks of cabbage so I leave mine thicker.

Stir entire mixture until cabbage is soft and cooked. To speed this process up a little and prevent some burning, you can add a little bit of water and put a lid on your pan to “steam” the cabbage. This will also help your potatoes if they are not quite cooked through yet. Taste again to check the salt level and spice, then your ready to serve. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do. Happy cooking!

About DH

Working on it
This entry was posted in British, Dinner, Hot Dish. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bubble and Squeak

  1. Pingback: Thai Cabbage Salad | The Paperback Chef

Leave a Reply

