Christmas Crock Pot Hot Chocolate

On Christmas Eve as a child there were a few simple things you could not forget. First, the reindeer loved carrots (unpeeled) and second, Santa liked either Chocolate Chip or Sugar cookies with his hot chocolate. Now as an adult I think the big man might rather have a great cup of single origin coffee to break up the rich chocolaty flow, but it is Christmas Eve, so lets keep with childhood traditions and set out some amazing hot cocoa!

Weather it’s leaving cocoa for Santa or making it for loved ones on a cold winters day, I have found the perfect, most amazing recipe. Well, in all honesty, my wife found the perfect recipe and had me make it. So, having been the one who made it, I feel justified in writing about it. It solves two of the most important cocoa questions. How do you make amazing hot chocolate…and equally as important, how do you keep it hot? Simple. The crock-pot!! This is not your freeze dried, processed packe of Swiss Miss. It’s astronomically better!

Now, a simple disclaimer. I’m not the Hot Chocolate conorsure in the family,  my wife is. And she says this is AMAZING! Others have described it “sipping chocolate” or drinkable pot de crème. And coming from a coffee lover – me – this is some great stuff.

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • 1 can of sweetened condensed milk
  • 2 cups chocolate chips (I like Ghirardelli semi-sweet. The better the chocolate the better the drink)
  • 6 cups of whole milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Place all ingredients in the crock pot and stir together. Cover and cook on low for two hours. After 2 hours, whisk together. I like to use the emulsifying wand (i.e. Immersion Hand Blender) and whip to a nice creamy, frothy, consistency. Ladle into cups and enjoy the hot rich goodness. One warning, the longer your cocoa sits in the crock-pot the thicker it gets! Not really a problem for me but the purest might take issue.

Adapted From:
the blog, http://www.mrshappyhomemaker.com
About DH

Working on it
This entry was posted in Christmas, Dessert, Drink, Sweet. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Christmas Crock Pot Hot Chocolate

  1. skyrock.com says:

    Good info. Lucky me I discovered your website by chance (stumbleupon).
    I have book-marked it for later!

Leave a Reply

