Kale Salad

If your an avid gardener like me, then you may have noticed that kale grows really quickly and, like myself, you may be running out of ways to cook kale. Notice I didn’t say I’m a “good” gardener nor “good” at cooking kale. Yet kale is one of the top “superfoods” and as such, needs to find a permanent way into my/your diet. I believe if you grow it you should eat it so I’m always in search of a new kale recipe and this one is great!

Growing kale for me is like growing up hunting in the mountains (ok, bear with me). As kids my brother and I were alway taught “you eat what you kill.” I hadn’t taken my parents literally until I came home one day with an old gray squirrel and some kind of meadow bird only to find that because I shot them I was having them for dinner… even if the rest of the family was having burgers! Sadly my garden has become my home hunting field now that I live in the city. Kale however, is far healthier for you and taste a whole lot better than some old gray squirrel. Yet the priniciple still holds true… you eat what you grow (kill).

If you are a skeptic about the taste and health benefits of kale then maybe this salad will change your mind. I have always had a hard time eating kale raw but now I can’t wait to make this salad again.

What your going to need:

  • 1 bunch of kale, center ribs removed and cut into thin strips
  • 1 small onion, thinly sliced (I like shallots but you can use a yellow or red onion)
  • 3 tbsp e.v.o.o. (as Rachel Ray would say…or… extra virgin olive oil)
  • 1 small clove of garlic (I like garlic so I add a little more)
  • 1 1/2 tbsp of lemon juice (more or less to taste)
  • 1/2 tsp kosher salt
  • 1 small tomato thinly sliced (or small cherry tomatoes cut in half or quartered)
  • 1/4 cup kalamata olives, pitted and cut in half or quartered
  • 1/2 cup pin nuts, chopped walnuts, or chopped pecans (optional)
  • 1/3 cup feta cheese, crumbled (my wife likes goat cheese better)
  • Freshly ground black pepper
This is a great salad but it takes some prep time. Because of the effect the acid from the lemon juice has on the kale I would recommend only making it 30-60 minutes before you want to eat it. The more it sets with the dressing on it the more it breaks down and softer the kale becomes.
In a small bowl mix together e.v.o.o., Lemon juice, and salt. Pour the dressing over the kale and onions, toss, then let it sit anywhere from 30 – 60 minutes. If your taking it to a friends’ house for dinner, do this just before you leave or take everything already made and do it there. Right before you are ready to eat, add nuts, cheese, tomatoes, and olives. Pepper to taste and then enjoy!
About DH

Working on it
This entry was posted in Cold Dish, Garden, Salad, Vegetables, Vegetarian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

