Black Pepper Biscuits

Last night while my wife was out, I decided I wanted to go “all out” and make three new dishes for dinner and have dinner ready when she got home. I pulled out all the stops and made Buttermilk Fried Chicken, Black Pepper Biscuits, Kale Salad, and not-so-new but always popular, Roasted Vegetables.  Two out the three new dishes were a hit… the chicken needs some work before it makes its way to the blog. For now lets focus on some amazing Biscuits!

Black Pepper Biscuits:

Now, I must admit that biscuits have never been my “thing”. My wife however, has been on the hunt for the “perfect biscuit” since we’ve been married. For me, I love the flaky ones that come out of the can that are pulled apart in layers, but I have never really craved them. The closest I’ve gotten is a near pathological need for my mother’s Biscuits & Gravy which include the simple Bisquick drop biscuits. (A recipe I may share with you one day… but for now a family has to have some secrets.)

However, after last night I may have been converted to love the almighty biscuit. I have always heard that once you have a great biscuit you can never go back to the canned on. Well, these biscuits have made a believer out of me. They may not be the “perfect” biscuit but for now they are the ones that I want!

Here’s what you need: (This is a full recipe but half makes 9 nice size biscuits)

  • 4 cups all purpose flour
  • 4 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt (I like Kosher salt)
  • 3/4 cup chilled unsalted butter cut into 1/2-inch pieces (1 1/2 sticks)
  • 1 1/2 cups chilled buttermilk
  • Whipping Cream for brushing on top (I only had half & half and it worked fine)
  • Fresh ground black pepper

Preheat your oven to 450° and line a baking sheet with parchment paper. You can use a Silpat or just grease your baking sheet. Anything to keep the biscuits from sticking.

Next, combine flour, baking power, baking soda, and salt in a food processor. Blend together for just a few seconds. Add the pieces of chilled butter and blend until mixture is course. I wait to see it start to crumble in on its self. Watch that you do not blend for too long as the food processor can heat up and warm the butter.

Place mixture in a large bowl and then add the buttermilk. Make sure to only fold it and not over mix. You want it mixed together but still a little crumbly. If you over mix you will get tough dense biscuits.

Pour dough out on the counter and gather into a ball. Gently press down until dough is pressed out to about 3/4 inch think. Using a 2 3/4 round cutter, cut out biscuits. When you run out of usable dough, gather it all together again (gently) and keep cutting until you have used it all.

Place on a baking sheet and brush the tops with whipping cream then lightly grind pepper over the top. Place in the center of the oven for 15 – 18 minutes or until they reach your desired browness. Pull out an enjoy! With any luck this will convert you as well into a biscuit lover.

Adapted From: 
Bon Appetit. “Black Pepper Biscuits.” Bon Appetit, September 2009.
About DH

Working on it
This entry was posted in Baking, Savory, Something to Write Home About!. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

