Southern Sweet Potato Yeast Rolls

Easter around our home centers around Faith, Family, and Food. We set the day around church, as Jesus really is the reason we celebrate and gather. Then we focus on family and friends as we come together over some great food. As a child eveything revolved around colored eggs and chocolate bunnies, but these days I look forward to grandma’s pecan pie and mothers quiche most of all. Sadly, every April I still find my subconsious child with the need to eat obseen amounts of Peeps. Odd….

These days the foods of Easter have taken on an eclectic expression around our home and within our circle of friends. I bring to the table a “woodsy” Northern California-British expression, my wife (a Southern Bell) brings traditions from Georgia and South Carolina, while we also have those from Texas, Louisiana, Hawaii, and Samoa supplying dishes to the table.

In my attemp to learn to bake and grow in my range culinary expression I made beets in a mustard cream sauce, collard greens with bacon, and Southern Sweet Potato Yeast Rolls. It is the Rolls that will be the subject of todays post. These amazing balls of sweet southern goodness have a smooth yeast taste with a hint of lemon to round them out. I would recomend them to anyone trying to add a little “southern flare” to the table. Load them with pulled pork, fill them with chicken salad, or just put a little bit of butter and you have a great additions to any meal. Also… if you want to experiment, as I so often do, these rolls can be turned into a loaf of bread which is great some some jam in the morning.

Adapted from:
Anderson, Jean. A Love Affair with Southern Cooking. New York: HarperCollins, 2007.
About DH

Working on it
This entry was posted in Baking, Bread, Easter. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Southern Sweet Potato Yeast Rolls

  1. Kendra says:

    So I am being a bit WILD in the kitchen these days and branching out into new territories that I have never explored. I saw this and thought I would try it. The dough was pretty sticky when I first put it out to knead- so I added a bit more flour..We will see how it goes. Also, I don’t see a measurement for salt in your list.. So I guessed amount..I hope I am right 🙂 I am letting the dough rise-BUT I will write and let you know how it went and if I enjoyed the rolls… Thanks for the inspiration. I miss and love you both-

    Kendra

    • DH says:

      You were so right! I have gone back and changed it to include the 1 tsp of salt that is required. Thanks… no salt… that could be bad.

Leave a Reply

